Website proudly created by

Mako Women named to play Taranaki this Saturday afternoon

The Tasman Mako women will play their first game in the Farah Palmer Cup competition at Sports Park, Motueka on Saturday, kick off 2.35pm.

They will take on fellow championship side Taranaki in their opening encounter.

A key player for Tasman is Hayley Hutana, who made the switch from Manawatu this season. 

She was named the Tasman club player of the year for her efforts in guiding the Moutere Magpies to the club crown and she will have her first taste of Farah Palmer Cup action since 2015. 

Capable of playing 10, 12 or in this week’s position as centre, Hutana appeared in two tournaments for the Black Ferns Sevens in 2013.

The Mako women’s team: 1 Anna Bradley, 2 Kelly Stanford, 3 Stephani Mitchell, 4 Gina Healey, 5 Tamara Silcock, 6 Jess Foster-Lawrence, 7 Rheanna Wood, 8 Niska Scott; 9 Hannah Kelly, 10 Dana-Lee Wilson, 11 Hannah Beech, 12 Demi Salton, 13 Hayley Hutana, 14 Amelia Hammett, 15 Crystal Mayes. 

Reserves: Louise Nalder, Erika Saunders, Katie Silcock, Leah Miles, Sophie O’Cain, Staci Kohe, Michelle Curry.