Website proudly created by


Posts From October, 2019

Mitch Hunt and Will Jordan shine in big win over Northland

Tasman have continued their superb season with a 52-6 demolition of Northland at Trafalgar Park. After a slow start the Mako exploded to life in the 26th minute when Will Jordan finished off a classy break by Highlanders-bound Mitch Hunt – and it wasn't the last time those two names were mentioned.

Tasman women move to quarterfinals

Northland 35 defeated Tasman 29 (Rebecca Kersten 2, Hayley Hutana 2, Wai Greig tries, Hutana 2 con). HT: 13-5.

Mako finally get job done against Taniwha

Tasman 52 (Te Ahiwaru Crikidaveta, Will Jordan 2, Sione Havili, Jamie Spowart, Wyatt Crockett, Tim O'Malley tries, Mitch Hunt 6 cons) defeated Northland 6 (Jack Debreczeni 2 pens). HT: 19-6

Opinion: Lesser lights illuminate Mako match

Co-head coach Goodman said there were some “little frustrations with our execution and option-taking” in the first half but he was happy to claim the five points. “The boys fixed that up though and there was some pretty good stuff out there, we scored some good tries.”

Tasman the first team since 2007 to go through regular season unbeaten

Tasman 47 (Leicester Faingaanuku 2, Sione Havili, Tima Faingaanuku, Mitch Hunt, Alex Nankivell, Hugh Roach tries; Mitch Hunt 4 con, David Havili 2 con) defeated Hawke's Bay 28 (Marino Mikaele-Tu'u, Devan Flanders, Caleb Makene, Jason Long tries; Tiaan Falcon 3 con, Lincoln McClutchie con). HT: 19-14.

Tasman women’s season goes on with QF win

Tasman 25 (Bethan Manners, Sydnee Wilkins, Rebecca Kersten tries, Hayley Hutana 2 pen, 2 con) defeated North Harbour 19. HT: 12-10 Harbour.

Mako make history with round robin clean sweep

Tasman 47 (Sione Havili, Leicester Fainga’anuku 2, Tima Fainga’anuku, Alex Nankivell, Hugh Roach, Mitch Hunt tries, Hunt 4 con, David Havili 2 con) defeated Hawke’s Bay 28 (Marino Mikaele Tu’u, Devan Flanders, Jason Long, Caleb Makene tries, Tiaan Falcon 4 con). HT 19-14

Tasman Mako into premiership final after holding off Wellington 18-9

Tasman 18 (Quinten Strange, Alex Nankivell tries, Mitchell Hunt 2 pens, 1 con) defeated Auckland 9 (Harry Plummer 3 pens)

Season over for Mako women with Otago semi loss

Otago 64 defeated Tasman 10 (Tries: Sydnee Wilkins, Rebecca Kersten). HT: 35-0.

OPINION: Handling adversity key to Mako victory

The ability to handle adversity is crucial to any teams with title aspirations and the Mako had to dig deeper than they have had to at any stage this season to get the job done today.

Tasman secure 2019 Mitre 10 Cup Premiership - Undefeated

Tasman 31 (Will Jordan 2, David Havili tries; Mitch Hunt 2 cons, 4 pens) defeated Wellington 14 (Alex Fidow try; Jackson Garden-Bachop 3 pens)
HT: 23-14

Tasman Mako crowned Mitre 10 Cup Premiership champions

Tasman 31 (Will Jordan 2, David Havili tries Mitchell Hunt 4 pens, 2 cons) defeated Wellington 14 (Alex Fidow tries, Jackson Garden-Bachop 3 pens)

From rags to riches: Tasman complete 14-year journey

Fifteen years ago the Tasman Mako were merely an idea, a concept that had merit but posed more questions than answers. Within 14 seasons, during which the nation’s newest union twice teetered on the edge of oblivion, they have established themselves as one of the powerhouses of our national game.