Website proudly created by

Community and Mako Rugby Awards celebrated

Community and Mako Rugby Awards celebrated

The Tasman Rugby Union held its annual Awards Night where community rugby personalities and Mako male and female rugby players were honoured for their achievements.

Guests included the NZR Vice President, Max Spence, who presented the Community Rugby Awards, the Union’s Brand Sponsors, TRU staff and the Mako teams and partners.

The evening was emceed by Blair Kiddy of Mediaworks and CEO Tony Lewis made the welcoming speech. Community rugby awards were followed by two acknowledgements for longevity within the Mako organization followed by the Mako teams’ awards.

Community Rugby Awards

Club Player of the Year

Presented to the female and male senior club players considered to be the best week in, week out.

The female winner was Ariana Te Kawa-Wiremu of Waimea Old Boys. Unfortunately, Ariana was unable to attend. The male club player of the year was Timoci Tavatavanawai of Central.

Timoci Tavatavanawai with Max Spence

Tasman Club Personality

This valued community award recognises the club person who displays both on and off-field excellence in all aspects of club rugby cultures.

That person for 2020 is the Waimea Old Boys captain, Ben Eder.

Ben Eder with Max Spence

Club Coach of the Year

This group of nominees from both female and male clubs was strong, with the award going to Gavin Briggs of Marist.

Gavin Briggs with Max Spence

Referee of the Year

Our refereeing ranks are growing with an exciting group of younger refs coming through in 2020 however the Tasman Rugby Referees award for the best went to the evergreen Steffan James.

Steffan James with Max Spence

Development Player of the Year

Awarded by the development coaching group, this award goes to not just a good player but also a person who embraces the Mako values and culture. Presented by development coach Dan Perrin, the recipient is Anton Segner.

Anton Segner with Dan Perrin


Brett Thornalley

Brett aka Nipper has been the team’s assistant manager since our foundation in 2006. He has been involved in 162 Mako matches working tirelessly behind the scenes as well as running the water for 200 players in 15 seasons.

Brett’s selfless service to the team was recognised by team manager Martyn Vercoe and senior players Alex Ainley, David Havili and Mitch Hunt.

Mitch Hunt, David Havili, Martyn Vercoe, Kathleen and Brett Thornalley, Alex Ainley

Alex Ainley

Against Canterbury, Alex ‘Bone’ Ainley became just the second Mako to bring up a century of matches played. We took the opportunity to have principal sponsor Murray Sturgeon of Golden Edge / Nelson Pine Industries present Alex with his 100-game commemorative tankard.

Alex Ainley with Murray Sturgeon.

Mako Team Awards

Defender of the Year

Awarded to our female and male Mako who displayed all-round excellence on defense. The criteria is the percentage of effective and dominant tackles made. Our award winners in this category were Tamara Silcock and Sione Havili.

Tamara Silcock with coach Billy Guyton

Sione Havili with coach Shane Christie

Rookie of the Year

These awards go to debutant players in 2020 for the Tasman Mako, and who displayed high quality on-field performances throughout the season. For the women this went to Elisha Godsiff and for the men it was awarded to Mark Telea.

Elisha Godsiff with coach Steve Curtis

Mark Telea with coach Gray Cornelius

Mako Woman of the Year

Chosen by the players, the Mako Woman goes to the player who throughout the Farah Palmer Cup has been there for her fellow players and displayed the work ethic, team ethos and effort that enhanced the team environment. This year the players honoured Tamara Silcock.

Tamara Silcock with team manager Jo MacLean.

Mako Man of the Year

The Mako Man is voted by the whole squad and management. The winner emphasizes what it means to live and breathe our Mako values and displays outstanding qualities in all aspects of Mako culture. The Mako Man for 2020 is Sione Havili.

Sione Havili with co-Head Coach, Clarke Dermody.

Mako FPC Player of the Year

This award is judged by the Mako women’s coaching staff and given to the best player on the field throughout the Farah Palmer Cup campaign. The winner is Tamara Silcock, completing a clean sweep of the major three Mako women awards.

Tamara Silcock with head coach Mel Bosman

Mako Player of the Year

This most prestigious men’s award goes to the best player during the Mitre 10 Cup season as voted by the Mako coaching group. A number of players put their hand up however the player deemed our Mako on-field MVP for the season is Sione Havili. This completes a clean sweep of the major Mako awards for Sione.

Sione Havili with co-head coach Andrew Goodman.