Website proudly created by

Community and Mako Rugby Awards celebrated

Community and Mako Rugby Awards celebrated

The Tasman Rugby Union held its annual Awards Evening where community rugby personalities and Mako male and female rugby players were honoured for their achievements.

Due to Covid Level 2 restrictions the event was held at the TRU with players and staff in attendance.

Community rugby awards were followed by two acknowledgements for longevity within the Mako organization followed by the Mako teams’ awards.

Community Rugby Awards

Club Coach of the Year

Brendon Smith was presented with this award by Mako FPC coach, Mel Bosman. Brendan has led a relatively young Kahurangi team in years and age, to the Final of the Tasman Trophy, and has looked for every opportunity to develop and grow as a coach.

Referee of the Year

For the second consecutive year, Steffan James was recognised by the Tasman Referees as the best referee in the province.  Steffan, who unfortunately could not attend, provides a strong, but flowing style to the game, which encapsulates what the Tasman and Mako rugby brand stands for.

Development Player of the Year                                                                                                         

Voted by the Tasman development coaching group, and presented by head coach Gary Stevens, this award went to Apetone Vaka of Wanderers Rugby Club. Apetone showed excellent form and character for both his club and the Tasman Development XV.

Mako Team Awards

Defender of the Year

Awarded to our female and male Mako who displayed all-round excellence on defence, not only in rejecting the opposition attack, but also in using great defence to exert pressure on the opposition, and create turnover ball for tries at the other end of the field.

Our award winners in this category were Sui Pauaraisa and Pari Pari Parkinson (who was unable to attend as he's in Christchurch having his knee, injured against Wellington, operated on).

Sui Pauaraisa with Mel Bosman

Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year is an award given to a Mako who has debuted in 2021 and hence received a Mako number this season. The winner of this award must have displayed outstanding on field performances across the whole season. For the women this went to Eleri James-Sitters and for the men it was awarded to Timoci Tavatavanawai

Eleri James-Sitters with FPC assistant coach Daniel Hobbs

Timoci Tavatavanawai with NPC assistant coach Daniel Perrin

Players of the Year

This prestigious award is voted on by the Mako coaching group for the best player on the field week in week out throughout the campaign. The players deemed to be our on-field MVP’s were Sui Pauaraisa and Leicester Fainga’anuku.

Sui Pauaraisa with FPC head coach Mel Bosman

Leicester Fainga’anuku with NPC assistant coach Gray Cornelius

Mako Man and Mako Woman

Players play to earn the respect of their peers. These awards are voted for by the playing squad and management on a weekly basis. The winners emphasise what it means to live and breathe our Mako values on and off the field and display outstanding qualities in all aspects of Mako culture.

The 2021 Mako Woman is Hannah Kelly and the Mako Man is Mitchell Hunt

Hannah Kelly with FPC assistant coach Billy Guyton

Mitchell Hunt with his co-captain Quinten Strange

The TRU staff and Mako teams look forward to again hosting this event in an open forum in 2022 with our Sponsors, families and whanau in attendance.