Website proudly created by

Mako 2020 Squad Named

Mako 2020 Squad Named

Tasman Rugby Union has named a 36 man squad to contest the 2020 Mitre 10 Cup.

To be captained by David Havili, the side will again be coached by co-Head Coaches Andrew Goodman and Clarke Dermody with assistance from Shane Christie and Gray Cornelius.

Three former Tasman Mako players will return for the campaign – Alex Ainley (92 Mako caps) from Bay of Plenty, Kieron Fonotia (65 caps) from Scarlets in Wales and Quentin MacDonald (78 caps) from Oyonnax in France. They will be joined by former Wanderers club player and Samoan halfback Dwayne Polataivao.

The team fields 20 Super Rugby players including new recruits to the Mako ranks, wingers Sevu Reece (Crusaders) and Mark Talea (Blues) and prop Isileli Tu'ungafasi (Crusaders). Other new additions are Anton Segner (Nelson College flanker), lock Mahonri Ngakuru and flanker Hugh Renton.

25 of the squad have played Club rugby in the region with 10 of those graduating from the region’s Schools system.

There are 6 contracted players who have suffered season ending injuries - Ethan Blackadder (Crusaders), Atu Moli (Chiefs), Pari Pari Parkinson (Highlanders), Ray Nuia (Blues), James Marshall (Hurricanes) and Jack Grooby (Stoke club).

Four club players will train with the squad as potential injury replacements, flanker Braden Stewart (Central), lock Max Hicks (Marist) and prop Kershawl Sykes-Martin (Nelson) and half back Louie Chapman (Kahurangi).