Website proudly created by

Makos News & Awards

Billy Guyton & Vernon Fredericks

Two of our Mako men secured their 50 Games Blazer this season. Vernon Fredericks (Mako # 81) earned his against Otago while Billy Guyton (# 113) brought up 50 against Auckland on the weekend.

Makos secure playoff berth with win over Auckland
Tasman becoming one of the “big boys”
Auckland match day photos by Shuttersport

Vernon is a tenacious and versatile player, originally selected as a hooker and now a back rower, who has overcome many an injury obstacle to reach this milestone.

Billy also was originally selected for a different position, first five-eighth, before shifting to halfback where his control of the tempo has made him an integral member of the team.

Our congratulations go out to both men on becoming our 11th and 12th Blazer recipients respectively.

Makos Team Awards

On Monday, the team gathered with Sponsors, staff and partners for the annual team awards presentation.

Our winners were:

Team Man of the Year

Ethan Blackadder

For outstanding qualities in all aspects of the Mako off field culture and environment. This award is for the team player who does the hard graft, the extra miles and the unheralded deeds off the field. This award is voted by all the team and was awarded to Ethan Blackadder.

Rookie of the Year

Will Jordan

Presented to the best new/ young Mako player of 2017, the winner of this award has performed outstanding deeds on the field across the whole season. This year's worthy recipient is outstanding young fullback Will Jordan.

Iron Man of the Year

Alex Ainley

Awarded to the best overall defensive player. The qualities looked for by the coaches, management and fellow players are most tackles made, percentage of tackles effectively made, the number of dominant tackles made and effectiveness at the breakdown. The Iron Man for 2017 is Alex Ainley.

Mako Man of the Year

Jordan Taufua

This most prestigious award goes to the player who has proven to be our team’s most valuable player throughout the year. This award is voted on by the team. Finalists were Will Jordan, Shannon Frizell, Mitch Hunt and our winner, Jordan Taufua. Jordan this year returned to the Mako fold after first playing for us in 2012. His aggression in defense and go-forward at number 8 has been a stand out feature of the team's performance.

Our congratulations to all Award winners and to those others nominated. You have our full support for the remaining 3 games of your campaign. We Are Makos! #FinzUp