Website proudly created by


Tasman team finish National Sevens Cup runners-up

Men's Cup Final: Waikato 21 (Sevu Reece, Tyler Campbell, Saynarvat Srisawat tries; Jordan Bunce 2, Isaac Te Tamati con) Turf Hotel Tasman 17 (James Lash, Glen Ballam, Tone Ng Shiu tries; Lash con). HT: 14-5.

Mako sign outside back Solomon Alaimalo

TRU is pleased to announce the signing of outside back SOLOMON ALAIMALO to play for the Tasman Mako. Solomon has played 21 matches for Northland over the last 2 seasons and 10 matches for the Chiefs in 2017.

It’s Mako, not Makos [The Spinoff]

This week Tasman Rugby Union are announcing a small name change with potentially huge consequences. Initial conversations had talked about the Tasman Mako – ‘mako’ being the correct plural of the Māori name.

We are the Tasman Mako

The Tasman Rugby Union is proud to announce a correction to its team name to Tasman Mako.The dropping of the letter ‘s’ from the previous brand is in respectful acknowledgement of the correct use of the Māori name for the magnificent taonga, the Mako, that is our emblem.

Leon MacDonald reflects on Makos' season

"On reflection, there were some really good positives. The core of this group have re-signed [with Tasman] and will be around next year and better for the experience. Several have signed for Super Rugby and will become full-time professionals, which will help us as well." - Leon MacDonald

Super Rugby sides dotted with 19 Makos

BLUES: Issac Salmon. CHIEFS: Levi Aumua, Kane Hames, Alex Nankivell. CRUSADERS: Ethan Blackadder, David Havili, Mitchell Hunt, Will Jordan, Andrew Makalio, Tim Perry, Peter Samu, Quentin Strange, Jordan Taufua. HIGHLANDERS: Alex Ainley, Shannon Frizell, Tyrel Lomax, Pari Pari Parkinson, Liam Squire. HURRICANES: Finlay Christie

Congratulations to Canterbury on winning the Premiership Final

In the end, Canterbury were just too strong and too good, prevailing 35 – 13 on Saturday night in Christchurch.

Canterbury too strong for Tasman in Premiership Final

Canterbury 35 (Richie Mo'unga 2, Tim Bateman, Jack Stratton tries, Mo'unga 3 con, 3 pen) v Tasman 13 (Levi Aumua try, Mitch Hunt con, 2 pen) HT: 19-13.

Tasman team named for Premiership Final

Will Jordan, Tomas Aoake, Levi Aumua, Alex Nankivell, James Lowe, Mitchell Hunt, Finlay Christie; Jordan Taufua, Vernon Fredericks, Ethan Blackadder, Shannon Frizell, Alex Ainley (captain); Tyrel Lomax, Andrew Makalio, Siua Halanukonuka. Bench: Ti'i Paulo, Tom Hill, Ryan Coxon/Drew Petelo, Pari Pari Parkinson, Pete Samu/Braden Stewart, Billy Guyton/Ben Finau, Tim O'Malley, Trael Joass.

Hats off to our coaching staff

In business, success stems from leadership and talent development. The same applies to a sports team. This year we have been very fortunate to have the coaching team of Leo Crowley, Greg Somerville, Andrew Goodman & Leon MacDonald working with our players.