Website proudly created by


Mako can reflect on an NPC campaign to be proud of [Peter Jones]

They may not have come away with the result that they craved, but Tasman again deserve the respect and admiration of the NZ sporting public, not only for the way they continue to develop talent, but also for their ability to handle defeat with dignity and class.

Waikato claim NPC Premiership title with win over Tasman in breathtaking final

Waikato 23 (Bailyn Sullivan 2 tries; D’Angelo Leuila 2 con, 2 pen, Fletcher Smith pen) v Tasman 20 (Regan Ware, Quinten Strange tries; Mitchell Hunt 2 con, 2 pen). HT: 13-10

Quentin MacDonald's career comes full circle for 100th game [Peter Jones]

“I am indebted to Tasman for giving me the opportunity to reach this milestone … from my first game to my 100th game my love for the game and for this region hasn’t wavered, in fact it is probably stronger now than it has ever been.” - Quentin MacDonald

Tasman stun Hawke's Bay to make it to NPC final

Hawke’s Bay 27 (Jonah Lowe, Tom Parsons, Marino Mikaele-Tu’u, Geoff Cridge tries, Lincoln McClutchie 2 cons, pen) v Tasman 33 (Andrew Makalio, Andrew Knewstubb, Timoci Tavatavanawai, Leicester Fainga’anuku tries; Mitch Hunt 3 pens, 2 cons) HT: 17-25.

Community and Mako Rugby Awards celebrated

The Tasman Rugby Union held its annual Awards Evening where community rugby personalities and Mako male and female rugby players were honoured for their achievements. Due to Covid Level 2 restrictions the event was held at the TRU with players and staff in attendance.

Tasman secure semifinal berth with win over Wellington

Tasman 34 (Quentin MacDonald, Jacob Norris, Leicester Fainga’anuku, Levi Aumua, Anton Segner tries; Mitchell Hunt 3 con, pen) v Wellington 22 (Taine Plumtree, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Tyrone Thompson tries; Aidan Morgan 2 con, pen). HT: 27-7

Canterbury upset Tasman to keep playoff hopes alive

Canterbury 24 (Fergus Burke, Luke Romano, Dallas McLeod tries; Burke 3 con, pen) v Tasman 20 (Quentin MacDonald try; Mitch Hunt 5 pen). HT: 7-9

Mako splash their way to win against Steamers in Nelson

Tasman 26 (Andrew Knewstubb, Timoci Tavatavanawai, Quentin MacDonald tries; Campbell Parata 3 pen, con) def Bay of Plenty 9 (Te Aihe Toma 3 pen). HT: 0-9

Hawke's Bay beat Tasman 34-22 to hold the Ranfurly Shield

Hawke's Bay 34 (Ereatara Enari, Brendon O’Connor, Lolagi Visinia, Stacey Ili, Neria Fomai tries, Lincoln McClutchie 3 cons, Tiaan Falcon pen) v Tasman 22 (Shannon Frizell tries, Mitch Hunt con, 5 pen). HT: 24-19

Mako hammer Stags to return to top of Premiership ladder

Tasman 51 (Timoci Tavatavanawai 2, Leicester Fainga'anuku 2, Macca Springer, Levi Aumua, Regan Ware tries; Mitch Hunt 5 con, 2 pen) def Southland 14 (Marty Banks, Solomon Alaimalo tries; Banks 2 con) HT: 39-7.