Website proudly created by


Mako crush Steelers 36 - 0 in Pukekohe

Tasman 36 (Will Jordan 2, Levi Aumua, Sam Moli, Leicester Faingaanuku tries, Mitch Hunt 3 cons, Tim O'Malley 1 con 1 pen) defeated Counties-Manukau 0.

What's On at Mako home games in Nelson

Friday 27 September – a Double Header
5.05pm – Farah Palmer Cup – Tasman Mako v Hawke’s Bay Tui
7.35pm – Mitre 10 Cup – Tasman Mako v Auckland
- Friday Fashion at the Footy

Sunday 6 October, 2.05pm v Northland
- Family Day with Pic’s Peanut Butter.

OPINION: Taranaki’s ‘bully boy’ tactics unable to intimidate Mako

At halftime in Sunday’s Tasman v Taranaki match-up at the Bullring in New Plymouth one of the ‘Naki coaching staff let slip that the home side had talked before the game of “being the bully”.

Mako tame Bulls in New Plymouth

Tasman 28 (Tima Faingaanuku 2, Andrew Makalio, Finlay Christie tries, Mitch Hunt 1 cons, 2 pens) defeated Taranaki 18 (Lachlan Boshier, Waisake Naholo tries, Waite 2 pens, 1 con)

OPINION: Mako seize opportunity to develop depth

Players such as hooker Hugh Roach, flanker Jacob Norris, midfielder Tim O’Malley, wingers Tima Faingaanuku and Jamie Spowart were given a starting opportunity and seized their moment eagerly. Front rowers Sam Moli and Isaac Salmon, new halfback Uchida Keisuke, plus utility back Fetuli Paea grabbed big minutes off the bench.

Mako maul Manawatu in Marlborough

Tasman 64 (Jamie Spowart 3, Liam Squire, Hugh Roach, Jordan Taufua, Finlay Christie, Jacob Norris, Will Jordan, Ethan Blackadder tries, Mitch Hunt 4 cons, Tim O’Malley 3 cons) defeated Manawatu 3 (Otere Black pen)

Mako canter 23-8 over Canterbury

Tasman dominated the red and blacks right from kick-off this afternoon, declaring themselves as early competition favourites with the 23-8 victory.

Tasman 23 (Levi Aumua, Leicester Faingaanuku, Shannon Frizell tries, Mitch Hunt 1 cons, 2 pens) defeated Canterbury 8 (Josh McKay tries, Brent Cameron 1 pen)

Mako team named to play Canterbury

In the only changes from the team that played Manawatu, Jordan Taufua starts at No. 8 with Liam Squire moving to the bench. Parri Pari Parkinson comes onto bench in place of Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta

Week 1 report by team manager Martyn Vercoe

Everything but the weather went pretty well at Lansdowne Park on Saturday as we got our season off to the start we wanted to. It’s hard in some ways to gauge, because of the conditions, how we executed our skills set and plans but one positive is we played with intent and physicality.

Mako defeat Wellington 45-8 in season opener

Tasman 45 (Tries: Leicester Fainga'anuku 2, Liam Squire, Andrew Makalio, Tyrel Lomax, David Havili, Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta; Cons: Mitchell Hunt 5) v Wellington 8