Website proudly created by


Forestry sector firmly behind community footy

Several regional businesses involved in the sustainable and innovative forestry sector are backing community rugby in the top of the South (Te Tauihu) and the flagship Tasman Mako teams.

Lyndon Bray is new Tasman Rugby Union boss

Former international referee Lyndon Bray is the new chief executive of the TRU. Lyndon has had a rich and varied professional career which has seen him traverse both the corporate and sporting worlds over the last 30 years.

Tasman CEO Tony Lewis goes West to join Force

After seven seasons spent lifting top of the south rugby to new heights, Tasman Rugby Union chief executive Tony Lewis is heading to Australia to take over as the new boss of the Western Force.

Round-robin reversals built Tasman resolve [Peter Jones]

The 2020 Mako squad epitomise the word ‘resilience’. The seeds of their 13-12 victory over Auckland were sewn during a testing series of round robin matches. Heavy losses to Auckland, North Harbour and Canterbury sent them back to the drawing board.???

Mako go back to back

Tasman 13 (Quentin MacDonald try, David Havili 1 con, 2 pen) defeated Auckland 12 (Harry Plummer 3 pen, Zarn Sullivan 1 pen)

Fans welcome Mako home like heroes

The Tasman Mako were welcomed home like heroes yesterday morning following historic back to back Mitre 10 Cup Premierships. The Mako arrived at Nelson Airport to plenty of fanfare a day after its nail-biting 13-12 win over Auckland.

Mako go back to back with Mitre 10 Cup Final win over Auckland

Tasman 13 (Quentin MacDonald try; David Havili 2 pens, con) defeated Auckland 12 (Harry Plummer 3 pens, Zarn Sullivan pen). HT: 10-9

Tasman’s high-fliers head for Eden Park

Kicking away hard-won possession is a risky business, especially against a side such as Bay of Plenty stacked with wonderful counter-attackers at the back. Therefore kicks must firstly be contestable and secondly, aggressively contested. Tasman’s troops did both.

Mako secure second consecutive Final

Tasman 19 (Quentin MacDonald, Leicester Fainga’anuku, tries, Mitch Hunt, 3 pens) defeated Bay of Plenty 10 (Joe Webber try, Kaleb Trask 1 con, Otere Black 1 pen)

Leicester Fainga’anuku powers Tasman into Final against Auckland

Tasman 19 (Quentin MacDonald, Leicester Fainga’anuku tries, Mitch Hunt 3 pens) defeated Bay of Plenty 10 (Joe Webber try, Kaleb Trask con, Otere Black pen). HT: 13-7