Website proudly created by


Wyatt Crockett to join Mako for 2018 & 2019

“The TRU welcomes Wyatt home to Nelson and believe that he’ll be a valuable addition to the Mako squad in 2018 and 2019. The Union is also excited that Wyatt will be making a vital contribution in the mentoring of young front forwards in the region.”

Risi Pouri-Lane now a contracted Black Ferns Sevens player

Risi Pouri-Lane contracted to the Black Ferns Sevens squad for 2018, as they strive for Commonwealth Games gold and victory at the Rugby World Cup Sevens later this year.

Tasman team finish National Sevens Cup runners-up

Men's Cup Final: Waikato 21 (Sevu Reece, Tyler Campbell, Saynarvat Srisawat tries; Jordan Bunce 2, Isaac Te Tamati con) Turf Hotel Tasman 17 (James Lash, Glen Ballam, Tone Ng Shiu tries; Lash con). HT: 14-5.

Mako sign outside back Solomon Alaimalo

TRU is pleased to announce the signing of outside back SOLOMON ALAIMALO to play for the Tasman Mako. Solomon has played 21 matches for Northland over the last 2 seasons and 10 matches for the Chiefs in 2017.

It’s Mako, not Makos [The Spinoff]

This week Tasman Rugby Union are announcing a small name change with potentially huge consequences. Initial conversations had talked about the Tasman Mako – ‘mako’ being the correct plural of the Māori name.

We are the Tasman Mako

The Tasman Rugby Union is proud to announce a correction to its team name to Tasman Mako.The dropping of the letter ‘s’ from the previous brand is in respectful acknowledgement of the correct use of the Māori name for the magnificent taonga, the Mako, that is our emblem.

Leon MacDonald reflects on Makos' season

"On reflection, there were some really good positives. The core of this group have re-signed [with Tasman] and will be around next year and better for the experience. Several have signed for Super Rugby and will become full-time professionals, which will help us as well." - Leon MacDonald

Super Rugby sides dotted with 19 Makos

BLUES: Issac Salmon. CHIEFS: Levi Aumua, Kane Hames, Alex Nankivell. CRUSADERS: Ethan Blackadder, David Havili, Mitchell Hunt, Will Jordan, Andrew Makalio, Tim Perry, Peter Samu, Quentin Strange, Jordan Taufua. HIGHLANDERS: Alex Ainley, Shannon Frizell, Tyrel Lomax, Pari Pari Parkinson, Liam Squire. HURRICANES: Finlay Christie

Congratulations to Canterbury on winning the Premiership Final

In the end, Canterbury were just too strong and too good, prevailing 35 – 13 on Saturday night in Christchurch.

Canterbury too strong for Tasman in Premiership Final

Canterbury 35 (Richie Mo'unga 2, Tim Bateman, Jack Stratton tries, Mo'unga 3 con, 3 pen) v Tasman 13 (Levi Aumua try, Mitch Hunt con, 2 pen) HT: 19-13.